top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCathy MacKechnie

Am I a "Reading Leader"?

I keep seeing this term all over educational social media lately, it's making me question - am I ? It states to be a great leader in literacy the teacher simply needs to read. Read, and share and be passionate about books. Seems easy enough or is it? With so many demands on teachers in the classroom today and a busy family life, is there any time left in the day to sit down with a book and enjoy it?


There are three times during my busy teaching day when I have a chance to pick up a book - at lunch (if I am lucky not to have a duty or meeting), at my children's bedtime and finally when I go to bed. When I am really focused/obsessed with a book I can also squeeze in a few minutes during my kids sport practices. The key is to always have a book with you.


If I have a deadline, I will read even more. So I've joined a few books clubs...one I have been with for over 10 years. Our books, location and even members have varied over time, but the focus remains the same: pick a date to meet, read a book, and connect over food, wine and words. I cannot say enough about the positive effects of book clubs - it has opened my eyes to books I may not have ever chosen. It allows me to listen to what others think about the book and on more than one occasion I have stepped away after our meeting, saying "I enjoyed that book more than I thought!" Most importantly we are connecting face to face with a single purpose.


Probably weekly or even sometimes daily, people ask me "What are you reading?" I am always thankful for my book clubs, as I always have at least one book on the go.


And on that note, I off to finish reading The Witches of New York by Ami McKay my book club meets this Thursday. My goal as I head back to work tomorrow is to keep making time to read - even if it's for only 15 minutes at lunch time. That way I can feel good about prioritizing reading in my day and then I'll have something to share with my students and friends.






16 views0 comments
bottom of page