top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCathy MacKechnie

Where do you get your book suggestions?

I came back to work today after a full two week off, everyone looked refreshed and happy to get right back into teaching and learning. Many staff and students talked to me about what they read over the holidays - they were all beaming with joy.


Most adults get their book suggestions for friends or family, but teens are a bit different. One Grade 11 student told me about the book entitled: Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier (originally written in German). A translated text - love it!


This was a new title for me, so I asked her "how did you hear about it?" BookTubers! "YouTubers" have spilled over into most industries and books are no exception. She continued to tell me about her favourite BookTuber: abookutopia https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCgvuTfjtQ1r_KLLeb6cbe3A. I will check this one out tonight. Thanks for the suggestion! There are so many BookTubers out there, perhaps I can get a class to research the best ones. English teachers - anyone interested?


Although it may not be my first place to get look for book suggestions or reviews, it is certainly informative, entertaining and creative.

18 views0 comments
bottom of page